Pipe down son

Oh em gee the sound of a toddler screaming because they can’t get their own way – is there a more annoying, godawful sound on earth. No I doubt there is.

The past almost two weeks the Curly-Haired Monster has discovered his lungs and the ability to screech at a very high pitch. It is a bloodcurdling sound and I’m certain my neighbours have contemplated calling the police. 

He likes to use this new finely-tuned skill when he doesn’t get what he wants. He is a stubborn little boy – not sure where he inherited that trait from – and often teams the screaming with a little lie down on the floor. On special occasions he will even bang his head on the floor. Good times.

I am not the most patient person in the world and have to restrain myself from screaming back – admittedly I have screamed back – but recently The Boy and I have decided the best way for the screaming to cease is to ignore him.

It works like a charm but I can’t help but feeling like the worst parent on earth. For realz does a mother’s guilt ever f*cking end?

Anyway I am sure I am not alone but I constantly feel like all other mums have so much more patience than me and I am doing a terrible job. I imagine in other homes the parents are calm and laugh off these tantrums where as I am trying not to tear my hair out or crack open a bottle of shiraz at 10am. 

Then it makes me question my ability to have more than one child? Could I handle it? How the hell do other parents do it? Will this hideous guilt which cloaks me every minute of my life ever dissipate? Does it ever get any easier?

One response

  1. Ignorance is bliss, they are just testing the boundaries -and our patience – you r not a terrible mother for ignoring him its the only thing that works sometimes!

Leave a Reply

