Almost a wifey

It’s less than five weeks until the wedding. One month and four days to be precise.

I had no idea just how stressful wedding planning would be. It has kept me awake at night more times than I care to remember and consumes about 60 per cent of my thoughts.

Now that we are on the final stretch the stress is dissipating but mainly because I have come to accept whatever happens, happens and that it’s about The Boy and I – no one else. If people want to complain about choices we’ve made or not attend then that is up to them – we are not going to let it rain on our parade.

What has blown my mind and impressed me the most is guests RSVPing. Anyone who knows me knows how much I despise it when people don’t RSVP. It is the height of rudeness in my book. That and people who are always late really grind my gears. It’s just plain rude and inconsiderate.

Anyway 95 per cent of guests have RSVPd and I am over the moon about that. I was expecting to write a ranty blog about RSVP etiquette but alas there is no need. Woo hoo to awesomely organised friends and family!

There is still quite a bit of work to do but most of that can’t be done until the final week and luckily my fabulous bridesmaids have already volunteered to give me a hand. They are probably sick of me asking 5 million questions about the hen’s weekend – which is the weekend after next – not probably I know for a fact they are, but I want them to know I appreciate everything they have done. They truly are the best ❤ I love you girls to the moon and back.

I cannot wait to call The Boy my husband and for him to call me his wife. It has been a long time coming – almost fifteen years. Hey these things take time 😉 and we had to be sure. It will be nice to finally solidify our relationship and it will make our little family feel whole.

The Curly-Haired Monster won’t be coming to the reception – he goes to bed at 7.30pm and personally we don’t think weddings and babies really mix – however he is playing a significant role in the ceremony. We are eagerly trying to get him to walk by then and while two days ago I would have said no way we have now noticed he has progressed in leaps and bounds. I will no doubt cry my eyes out when I see him walk down the aisle. My little boy is no longer a baby – waaah!

I won’t be changing my last name which may ruffle a few feathers but it’s my choice and I don’t think me taking The Boy’s surname is a declaration of love – to me it would be symbolic of me giving up my independence, my individuality and my heritage. Thankfully he understands where I am coming from and has not put any pressure on me to give up my name and values. There wouldn’t be a wedding if he objected anyway!

I know whatever happens on the day rain, hail or shine it is going to be one of the best days of our lives. I am so excited to share it with all of our closest friends and family.

Our goal for the day/night is for everyone to relax and have as much fun as possible. We want guest to stuff themselves silly with food, drink up and have a boogie on the dancefloor. So it’s a night to remember for everybody 🙂 I am so excited. So excited.

Let the final countdown begin … I AM GETTING MARRIED WOO HOO!

 

Leave a Reply

