Visiting hours are over

Sorry no one is home.

It’s finally happened I am so over this. I am bored, restless and tired of waiting.

I have run out of things to do and I have far too much time to sit and ponder which leads to me stressing out and feeling quite anxious about impending motherhood.

My insomnia has also returned with a vengeance – yippee!

But I digress this post isn’t meant to be me having a whine, what I want to discuss today is visitors.

There are two things which really irk me – people who don’t RSVP and drop-in/surprise visitors. These people are usually one and the same.

They sh*t me to tears.

I like routine, structure and to be organised. If I am having a party I want to know how many people are coming so I can organise the right amount of food and drink yet so many of my friends can’t seem to grasp this simple concept. So I end up sending out a text after the RSVP date has passed asking if they are attending. Nine times out of 10 their answer is yes. SO WHY DIDN’T YOU RSVP?! It does my head in. I am not looking forward to sending out our wedding invites that’s for sure.

Drop in/surprise visitors always seem to drop in at inappropriate times – such as on a Sunday or after work. It’s not that I don’t like having visitors it’s the fact they’ve thought it’s okay to simply show up without warning. What if I’m still in my pyjamas or about to head out? What if we can’t offer them an ice-cold beer or cup of coffee? What if I can’t be bothered entertaining? Send a text, make a phone call – don’t just show up out of the blue.

By now you’re probably wondering where the hell I am going with this.

With baby Predator arriving any day now I have been thinking about what will happen when we arrive home from hospital and the one thing which fills me with dread is visitors.

I know, I’m a horrible person. I should be pleased so many people will be wanting to meet our mini-human but I know once I am home all I’ll want to do is be left alone for at least a couple of weeks while I find my feet. The last thing I want is people dropping in.

It’s going to be difficult – The Boy has family coming over from New Zealand as Predator’s birth coincides with his younger brother’s 21st birthday. I don’t want to be rude or unappreciative but how do I let people know visiting hours are over?

I am sure I will be stressed out enough as it is without having to worry about entertaining people, making sure the house is tidy and having a well-stocked fridge and pantry.

So far the only solution I have come up with is the old ‘nobody is home’ trick. In other words I won’t be answering the door. Hopefully most people will be courteous and phone first so that way I can assess the situation and go from there.

Mums how have you coped with visitors? Am I being unreasonable? Leave me a comment below.

Update: My dear friend and fellow blogger The Wry Bride just sent me this – Etiquette for Visiting a Newborn Baby – perfect and I couldn’t have said it better myself.

6 responses

  1. Emma put a sign on her front door saying Mum & baby sleeping, please phone first. I disconnected the doorbell and took the home phone off the hook. People get the idea pretty quick.

  2. I made a sign for my front door “baby + new mum sleeping – please do not disturb” + put my phone on silent. Some days I did this even when we weren’t sleeping but just wanted time for ourselves! x

  3. Most people are very conscious of what you’re going through and will call ahead to make a time to suit you and bubs and nearly everyone who visited us brought food (not just the Italians either!). An alternative idea is to get most of the visitors to come to the hospital at a time that suits you, it’s much easier and no entertaining required! Then you can go home knowing you’ve seen most people and can be left alone.

  4. The sign is a good ideA but some people like MIL still thought t was okay to knock.. Without prior warning!
    Just turn ur phone to vibrate, close the blinds and don’t answer the door. If baby is crying when they’re knocking and u can’t hide, just don’t answer the door, pretend u didn’t hear them.
    My biggest pet hate ever is unexpected drop ins. Makes me so mad, but my husband and his family think its conplety normal.
    When your in hospital if you need a break the midwives are good, they can help keep some people out, close your door and put the no visitor sign up.
    If you have people over and you want hem gone, just say ” oh it’s 10:30, wow it’s predators nap time I’m tying to start a routine, and I may get some rest too” something like that..
    I am a loner I love my own company , I’m an expert at getting people out the house 🙂

Leave a Reply

