To sling or not to sling

The Hug-a-Bub wrap. Photo: Hug-a-Bub

Help – I really need some advice.

I am keen to buy a baby sling and have been busy researching the pros and cons but I can’t decide which type to spend my cash on. It doesn’t help that I don’t know anyone who has used one before and despite reading countless forums on the topic I am more confused than ever.

I have narrowed it down to three – the Hug-a-Bub wrap, the Hug-a-Bub Ring Sling or the Mamaway Ring Sling.

I only plan to use it for the first six months and I want to steer clear of carriers such as those by Baby Bjorn as I have heard all sorts of negative things about them such as stunting growth and being bad for baby’s hips. I also think they might be too straining on my back which I already have problems with.

Any advice would be most appreciated 🙂

Maternally yours, Confused.

6 responses

  1. Probably not what you want to hear, but I struggled with the slings (they were my first choice) and ended up with a baby bjorn which – at 16 months – Love Bug is still happy in (because she still weighs less than 10kgs)! I’m looking at an ergo baby carrier as our next step as she edges towards the 10kg mark (http://support.ergobaby.com/entries/21210362-what-is-the-weight-limit-of-the-ergobaby-carrier). I have had a number of good recommendations for the ergo, and will apparently be a little friendlier to my lower back than the baby bjorn.

    • Thanks 🙂 it’s so hard to decide with so many products on the market and so much conflicting advice out there. I think I might give the sling a go first and then go from there. Let me know how you go with the Ergo.

      • Will do! I loved your post about the maternity singlets too. As a girl who is also a size 8-10 I struggled and ended up only using one ‘feeding’ bra (which I bought on sale from Target for $10), but stuck to my tight fitting singlet tops purchased from dodgy clothing ’boutiques’ for $5 each. My boobs which are normally A-B did manage to get to a full C at their peak, but that wasn’t for very long at all.

      • Thanks! It’s ridiculous isn’t it. I know it sounds silly to complain about being small but I’ve been having a really tough time finding appropriate clothing. Thank God for Cotton On!

    • My friends highly recommend the Ergo. The hip dysphasia studies also show that it’s far superior to the bjorn.

      I’m planning on using both a wrap-style carrier and an Ergo (not at the same time of course!) because I feel like the wrap would be better until baby can support her head. I think my husband will enjoy the simplicity of the Ergo. Since he stays home during the day AND I refuse to buy a stroller he gets a nice Ergo to use. 🙂

      Good luck in your search! I’m a fan of the Moby wrap so far but everyone is different.

Leave a Reply

